alert attention business-partner calculator cc check close contact conversion-tool couple download envelope file information leaf map-location min money obu pc people person phone picture plus press questionmark satellic satellite search servicepoint truck www

All heavy goods vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) of more than 3.5 tonnes (since 1 April 2016), as well as all semi-trailer tractors of the N1 category with a body code BC regardless of their weight (since 1 January 2018), must have a working On Board Unit (OBU) in Belgium. When registering, please always enter the Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR), which is the point of reference for the definition of the weight.

This toll is levied on motorways and a number of regional and municipal roads. The OBU must be switched on whenever you drive on a Belgian road (showing a green light at all times and no error message). The system is based on the ‘user pays’ principle. This means that everyone pays a fair contribution to use the roads.

Satellic collects the toll on behalf of the 3 Belgian regions: Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels-Capital.

How does the system work?

1
 

 

Every domestic or foreign heavy goods vehicle over 3.5 tonnes on Belgian roads must have a working OBU from April 1st 2016.

 

2
 

 

The OBU detects where the vehicle is and which route it is following, via satellite signals.

 

3
 

 

The system adapts the road charge to the type of road.

 

4
 

 

The OBU calculates the toll to be paid. The tariffs depend on the maximum authorised vehicle weight, the Euro emission class and the type of road. The toll is calculated according to how many kilometres are driven and where (in which region).

 

5
 

 

The owner receives an overview of the amount to be paid. The amount due is paid to Satellic, which transfers the toll to the three Belgian regions according to the use of the road network.

 

6
 

 

Fixed, flexible and mobile checks across Belgium verify whether the heavy goods vehicles have a working OBU.

alert attention business-partner calculator cc check close contact conversion-tool couple download envelope file information leaf map-location min money obu pc people person phone picture plus press questionmark satellic satellite search servicepoint truck www

Tous les poids lourds ayant une Masse Maximale Autorisée (MMA) de plus de 3,5 tonnes, ainsi que tous les tracteurs de semi-remorque de catégorie N1 avec le code carrosserie BC (quel que soit leur poids), doivent (depuis respectivement le 1er avril 2016 et le 1er janvier 2018) être équipés d’un On Board Unit (OBU) en Belgique. Veillez, lors de l'enregistrement, à toujours entrer la Masse Maximale Autorisée du Train (MMAT), qui est le point de référence pour la définition du poids.

Ce péage est dû sur les autoroutes et sur certaines routes régionales et communales. L’OBU doit être activé ( i.e. il affiche à tout moment un voyant vert et aucun message d'erreur) dès que vous empruntez une route belge. Le système est basé sur le principe de l’utilisateur payeur. De cette manière, tout le monde apporte une contribution équitable à l’utilisation de nos routes.

Satellic effectue les prélèvements au nom des 3 régions belges: la Flandre, la Wallonie et la région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

 

Comment fonctionne le système ?

1
 

 

Chaque camion de plus de 3,5 tonnes, belge ou étranger, qui emprunte les routes belges doit être équipé d’un OBU activé dès le 1er avril 2016.

 

2
 

 

L’OBU détecte, par signal satellite, la position du véhicule et le trajet parcouru.

 

3
 

 

Le système enregistre le prélèvement kilométrique applicable au type de route.

 

4
 

 

L’OBU calcule le péage dû. Les tarifs dépendent de la masse maximale autorisée (MMA), de la classe d’émission Euro et du type de route. Le péage est calculé sur base du nombre et de la localisation (y compris la région) des kilomètres parcourus.

 

5
 

 

Le propriétaire reçoit un relevé du montant à payer. Ce dernier doit être payé à Satellic qui le reverse aux trois régions belges selon l’utilisation du réseau routier.

 

6
 

 

Des points de contrôle fixes, flexibles et mobiles, situés partout en Belgique, permettront de contrôler si les poids lourds sont bien pourvus d’un OBU activé.